If the system isn’t broke, why break it?

I’m currently re-reading Orrin Woodward‘s book Resolved: 13 Resolutions of Life (among other books as well). I’m in the 11th. chapter ; “systems thinking”, and was struck by this quote form Orrin: “In today’s competitive environment, if the system isn’t broken, then a person must break it to improve it anyway, before his competitors do this and put him out of business.”

It’s thinking like that, that has me constantly excited about where the leaders of this great organization are taking us! Change is not only good, it’s a requirement! By making frequent changes, we buy time to flesh out what does and doesn’t work. Thus putting us miles ahead of the competition who often lack the courage and will stay with the motto: If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. That mindset screams ‘don’t innovate’, which means over time, it will be obsolete.

The Team/LIFE leaders study systems ad-nauseum, and within that mindset, they are always studying how to get the most out of the leverage points of your life/business. Just one more reason why we learn and follow. We can all take a little comfort in knowing that with our leaders, we will be in business for a long, long time.

God bless, John Graff

10 comments on “If the system isn’t broke, why break it?

  1. Miles and mies ahead of the competition! I too am on my third time reading Resolved. Must be a good one!?

  2. Well let me answer that! It is a good one! and I just may be reading it again in the future.

  3. A little over 300 hundred to go!

  4. David says:

    Great post John. I always thought fixin’ what ain’t broke wasn’t a good idea. But I have a different perspective on that today after understanding just a little of Orrin’s thoughts. The horse & buggy may have been great in its day (before my day by the way) but it still became obsolete – for most of us. And as painful as the change may have been, we enjoy enjoy the fruits of those “fixin’s” today. One of the big reminders for me from Orrin’s “Systems Thinking” chapter is that thinking part. Let us (me) not become obsolete in my thinking. And the LIFE business material provides me great material to think on!

  5. John, I didn’t see you leave after the open but wanted to make sure and tell you that you rocked Kenosha tonight! You were so relateable and informative and there were a lot of new people there that were blessed to see you in action. Thank you for leading my friend!

  6. 10,000!!!!! Way to go John!

Leave a Reply

