Got Mentor?

As Important as proper nutrition is, I believe ‘Got Mentor’ is more beneficial than ‘Got Milk’. (My apologies to AMPI). Having daily access to info from leaders like Orrin Woodward is great, but having insight and perspective from someone who has the fruit on the tree (with a vested interest to help you succeed) is priceless!

In the case of my wife Penny and I, that mentor is Life founders: Dan and Lisa Hawkins.They’ve known us for many years now. They’ve seen us hit highs and lows on our journey thus far. They have lovingly affirmed us while simultaneously holding the bar high. It’s a relationship like this – that can help us get to the next level of our leadership journey. Why???

It all goes back to the concept: ‘you don’t know what you don’t know.’  How do I know they know? Because to know is to have, and they have. The second I think I know, I have to view my results. If I don’t have, then I really don’t know. For to think you know and not to have, is to really not know, ya know?

What I’m trying to say is that we all have blind spots, and it takes a different perspective from someone further down the path to course correct us (if we are humble enough to accept it) in order to keep us on track towards the objective.

One of the many things I love about the-Life-business, in conjunction with the Team training system, is that you get a mentor for free: set up in a win-win situation. For Dan and Lisa to intentionally offer bad/wrong advice to us would be absurd, because they would then be hurting their own business… talk about self-sabotage!

So, are you looking for a nugget to help you succeed? Get a proven mentor with a vested interest in your own success!

God bless, John Graff

3 comments on “Got Mentor?

  1. “It all goes back to the concept: ‘you don’t know what you don’t know.’ How do I know they know? Because to know is to have, and they have. The second I think I know, I have to view my results. If I don’t have, then I really don’t know. For to think you know and not to have, is to really not know, ya know?”

    I think I got that! Nice piece of writing John.
    Steve Leurquin

  2. rjfisher1 says:

    This is very well said John, and so true. Thanks for the post!
    Jammie

Leave a Reply

