Top 5 Books

Following
Top 5 Books
I never would have dreamed that I would wake up at 4:48 am thinking about a Book, but that is exactly what happened this morning so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. I have been reading “How I Raised Myself From Failure To Success In Selling” by Frank Bettger AGAIN.
What is really funny is that before Dan and Lisa Hawkins shared the Team Leadership Business with us and John and I started on the LIFE journey with them I had never read a book in its entirety. Thinking back, it amazes me as well, having attained my Nursing License, lived to 40+ yrs of age, raised a Daughter, and built a successful conventional business.

You would think somewhere I would have picked up a book to try and learn something, to better myself. Believe it or not I used to poke fun at people who read books making comments that reading was boring, that I had better things to do with my time, stating reading puts me to sleep. Fast forward a few amazing years and I have lost count of the books that have been read through our Amazing Training System that Orrin and Laurie Woodward and the policy council of the team have put together.
The Top 5 Books that are recommended are just a start.
“The Magic of Thinking Big” by David J Schwartz, always thinking I dreamed big, this book expanded my vision for so much more. Helping me conquer fears, and get my attitude right.

by Florence Littauer, this one taught me about my personality and that I really do need to be nicer to people. (work in progress) It also taught me about other personalities and that everyone didn’t need to be like me. (thank goodness for the rest of the world)
“How to Win Friends and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie, so many treasures in this book. We are in a people business and if someone doesn’t like and can’t trust you they won’t follow you.
“How to have Confidence and Power in Dealing With People” by Les Giblin. For me I had too much power in dealing with people due to my lack of confidence in so many areas of my life. (I’ll write about that later in the Family category) I really needed this book to get my heart right.
Back to what woke me up this morning: “How I Raised Myself From Failure to Success in Selling” by Frank Bettger. Have you ever read a book several times and when you pick it up to read it again you wonder how they slipped all this new info in it? Well that has been me reading this book this time. Crazy I know, coming from a “Me No Read Penny” but it is true. I have taken my time reading and digesting every chapter and applying the principles referenced.
I could write a whole article on just this one Top 5 Book, but seeing as how our Mentors Dan and Lisa Hawkins recommend us read the Top 5 Books each year to always sharpen our people skills, I’ll let you read it for yourself.
It was once asked of a group of Leaders on Team how many times they had read the Top 5 Books and every Leader of a certain level had read the Top 5 at Least 5 X’s. Maybe there is something to it. Trust me it has been so worth it to start reading and to realize how much I have to learn from so many amazing authors. Orrin Woodward says “You can stand on the shoulders of Giants through reading” Give it a try, What do you have to lose.
God Bless
Penny Graff

10 comments on “Top 5 Books

  1. kaylakrumm1 says:

    Great blog Penny, nice to see you writing on here. It was neat to see your thoughts on the Top 5 greatest books we have to help improve ourselfs and others

    • johngraff01 says:

      Thank you Kayla for leading by being connected to the Blogs, we are trying to lead by example and we are proud of your leadership and can’t wait to see your freedom day. God Bless, Penny

  2. Darrek Travis says:

    Thank you for overcoming your fears so that others can follow in your footsteeps. ( Like Me)

    Thank you for being there to lead are leading ladies.
    Love You God Bless
    Darrek

  3. Jammie says:

    From one previous “I no read” to another – this was great. To see the hunger that you now plow through books with and your desire to grow yourselves for such a huge call in life is so inspiring to me. Thanks for always being transparent and as Darrek says, laying it out there so that others can see that path for themselves. It is so freeing to have that example, and I know what a blessing that has been and will continue to be in the lives you touch!

    • johngraff01 says:

      Thank you for always encouraging me and Loving me where I am at, until I get myself out of the way. You are a fantastic example to follow and I am so Blessed to have you in my life.

      God Bless
      Love
      Penny

  4. Gloria Fruit says:

    A wise woman once told me that each time you read a book you pick up new information because you are at a different point in your life and are continuing to grow. That wise woman was you Penny and you continue to bless our lives and show us the way. Thank you for leading and serving.

  5. Thank you for being a lady who shows us the importance of being a student, focused on self-improvement. I love your focus on the Top 5 books. I am reading How I raised Myself From Failure to Success in Selling, and even though I have read it several times, I am amazed at the wisdom that has not yet reached my brain! I shall continue on! Thank you Penny, you are awesome!

    Jamie

  6. Penny, this was extremely insightful and encouraging! Thank you for being the humble, Christ-led example of a leading lady that we can all follow in the Team!

    Blessings, Kristen

  7. Jeanette Burhans says:

    Penny,I just burst with pride and thankfullness as I watch you and John read and continue to grow.Keep filling your minds and hearts with the right kind of information and there will be no end to what you can and will do in life for yourselves and all the lives you touch. God Bless,…Mom

  8. Kim and Jim Jones says:

    Penny, Thank you for always being so encouraging with all of us. Your a blessing in our life and I thank God everyday that our paths have crossed and that you and John have become friends and mentors to us. God Bless, Kim & Jim

Leave a Reply

